President's Cabinet

Do you have friends that you turn to for advice? When the President wants advice he asks a group of people called the Cabinet. The purpose of the Cabinet is to advise the President. They are the President's closest and most trusted advisors. The Cabinet includes the Vice President, the heads of 15 executive branch departments, and other Government officials chosen by the President. The Cabinet meets at least once a week to discuss matters that effect the United States.

The 14 Secretaries from the executive departments and the Attorney General are nominated by the President, and they must be approved (confirmed) by a majority vote (51 votes) of the Senate. Nominees can not be a member of Congress or hold any other elected office. Executive department Secretaries and the Attorney General serve as long as the President is in office.

The following is a list of the current heads of the 15 executive department agencies, their department, when that department was created, and a brief description of the department. The list is organized by order of succession.