The United States Politics and Political Parties

Major Political Parties in the United States
(Listed alphabetically)

Democratic Party

Green Party

Libertarian Party

Republican Party

The meaning behind the words:

Democratic - Characterized by the principle of political or social equality for all

Democrat - A member of the Democratic Party. An advocate of democracy

Democracy - Government by the people, exercised either directly or through elected representatives

Green Party - an environmentalist political party

Libertarian - One who advocates maximizing individual rights and minimizing the role of the state.
One who believes in free will.

Political party - an organization to gain political power

Political - Of, relating to, or dealing with the structure or affairs of government, politics, or the state.
Relating to, involving, or characteristic of politics or politicians: Having or influenced by partisan interests.

Politics - Politics, although plural in form, takes a singular verb when used to refer to the art or science of governing or to political science: Politics has been a concern of philosophers since Plato. The activities or affairs engaged in by a government, politician, or political party:

Republic - A state or nation in which the supreme power rests in all the citizens entitled to vote.
This power is exercised by representatives elected, directly or indirectly, by them and responsible to them.

Republican - A member of the Republican Party of the United States.
One who favors a republic as the best form of government.

The States in The United States of America

The United States consists of -

1 district
District of Columbia where the nation's capital is located, Washington D.C.

50 States
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Concurrent Powers: Duties shared by both the national government and state governments, such as collecting taxes, building roads, and making/enforcing laws.